Soft Matter Hybrid Laboratory

본문 바로가기




  • Chong Min Koo (구종민)
  • School of Advanced Materials Science and Engineering
  • Sungkyunkwan University
  • Office #: 25221, Engineering Building II
  • 2066 Seobu-ro, Jangan-gu, Suwon, 16419, Republic of Korea
  • Tel: +82-31-290-7351, E-mail:,
  • Google Scholar :


  • B.S., Dept. of Industrial Chemistry, Hangyang University (1997)
  • M.S., Dept. of Chemical Engineering, KAIST (1999)
  • Ph.D., Dept. of Chemical Engineering, KAIST (2003)

Research Career

  • Professor, Advanced Materials Science and Engineering, Sungkyunkwan University (2022-present)
  • Center Heard, Tenured Fellow, Young Fellow, Principal Research Scientist, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (2007–2022)
  • Professor, University of Science and Technology (2010–2022)
  • Professor, KU-KIST Graduate School, Korea University (2017–2022)
  • Postdoctoral fellow, University of Minnesota (2003-2005)
  • Senior Research Scientist, LG Chemicals (2005-2007)
  • Visiting Scholar, Materials Sci. & Eng. Penn. State University (2011, 2013)
  • Visiting Scholar, Materials Sci. & Eng. Drexel University (2017-2018)

Honors and awards

  • 2021 Top 10 Nano Technology, Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning & Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy, Republic of Korea (2021)
  • Seoktop (석탑) Professor Award, Korea University (2021)
  • NST Best Research Award, Minster Award, Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning, Republic of Korea (2021)
  • KOPTRI Award, Korea Polymer Society (2021)
  • KISTian Award, the Grand Prize (2021)
  • KIST Tenured Researcher (2021)
  • 2020 Top 10 Science News in Korea, Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies (2020)
  • Korean President Award, Person with Distinguished Merits in the Contribution to National Scientific and Technological Development, (2019)
  • Korean Scientist of the Month (September) (이달의 과학기술인상), Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning (2018)
  • Best Senior Academic Award (중견학술상), Korea Polymer Society (2018)
  • Top 100 National R&D Excellence in 2018, MXene 2D materials, (2018.10.15)
  • Best Professor Award of UST (2017)
  • Best Publication Award of UST (2017 )
  • KISTian Award (KIST인상) (October, 2017)
  • LG Young Scientist Award in Industrial Chemistry, Korea Society of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry (2017)
  • Songgok Scientist Award (송곡과학기술자상), Korea Institute of Science and Technology (2017)
  • KIST Young Fellow (2017)
  • KIST Award (November, 2016)
  • Best Research Team Award, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (2015)
  • KIST Unsung Hero Award (2012)
  • Marquis Who’s Who In the World (2012, 2013)
  • Best Research Team Award, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (2011)
  • LG Group Best Research Award (2007)
  • LG Chemicals Best Research and Development Award (2007)

Selected Publications

  1. A. Iqbal, F. Shahzad, K. Hantanasirisakul, M. K. Kim, J. Kwon, J. Hong, H. Kim, D. Kim, Y. Gogotsi*, and C. M. Koo*, “Anomalous absorption of electromagnetic waves by 2D transition metal carbonitride Ti3CNTx (MXene)” Science 2020, 369, 446-450.
  2. F. Shahzad, M. Alhabeb, C. Hatter, B. Anansori, S. M. Hong, C. M. Koo*, and Y. Gogotsi*, “EMI shielding with 2D transition metal carbides MXenes”, Science 2016, 353, 2237-1140.
  3. D. He, N. Zhang, A. Iqbal, Y. Ma, X. Lu, Z. A. Qiao, J. H. Yu, H. Xu, W. Wang, R. Zhao, X. Li, Z. Zhou, C. Jin, C. M. Koo*, C. Wang*, “Multispectral electromagnetic shielding using ultra-thin metal-metal oxide decorated hybrid nanofiber membrane”, Communications Materials 2021, 2, 1-9.
  4. T. Yun, H. Kim, A. Iqbal, Y. S. Cho, G. S. Lee, M. K. Kim, S. J. Kim, D. Kim, Y. Gogotsi*, S. O. Kim* and C. M. Koo*, “Electromagnetic shielding of monolayer MXene assemblies”, Advanced Materials 2020, 32, 1906769.
  5. F. Shahzad, A. Iqbal, H. Kim, C. M. Koo*, “2D transition metal carbides (MXenes): applications as an electrically conducting materials”, Advanced Materials 2020, 32, 2002159.
  6. A. Iqbal, P. Sambyal, and C. M. Koo*, “2D MXenes for electromagnetic shielding: A review”, Advanced Functional Materials 2020, 30, 2000883.
  7. S. Lee, E. H. Kim, S. Yu, H. Kim, C. Park, T. H. Park, H. Han, S. W. Lee, S. Baek, W. Jin, C. M. Koo*, and C. Park*, “Alternating-current MXene polymer light-emitting diodes”, Advanced Functional Materials 2020, 30, 2001224.
  8. D. Kim, T. Y. Ko, H. Kim, G. H. Lee, S. Cho*, and C. M. Koo*, “Nonpolar dispersion of 2D Ti3C2Tx MXene flakes via simultaneous interfacial chemical grafting and phase transfer method”, ACS Nano 2019, 13, 13818-13828.
  9. T. H. Park, S. Yu, M. Koo, H. Kim, E. H. Kim, J. E. Park, B. Ok, B. Kim, S. H. Noh, C. Park, E. Kim, C. M. Koo*, and C. Park*, “Shape-adaptable 2D titanium carbide (MXene) heater”, ACS Nano 2019, 13, 6835-6844.
  10. S. Yu, H. Cho, J. Hong, H. Park, J. C. Jolly, H. S. Kang, J. H. Lee, J. Kim, S. H. Lee, A. S. Lee, S. M. Hong, C. Park, S. Yang*, and C. M. Koo*, “Shaping micro-clusters via inverse jamming and topographic close-packing of microbombs”, Nature Communications 2017, 8, 721.
  11. J. H. Lee, K. S. Han*, J. S. Lee, A. S. Lee, S. K. Park, S. Y. Hong, J. C. lee, K. T. Mueller*, S. M. Hong, and C. M. Koo*, “Facilitated transport in smectic ordered ionic liquid crystals”, Advanced Materials 2016, 28, 9301-9307.
  12. B. Kim, M. H. Kim, Y. D. Park, K. Min, J. Kim, S. M. Hong, S. O. Kim*, and C. M. Koo*, “Electric actuation of nanostructured thermoplastic elastomer gels with ultra large electrostriction coefficient“, Advanced Functional Materials 2011, 21, 3242-3249.
  13. P. Kumar, F. Shahzad, S. Yu, S. M. Hong, Y. H. Kim, C. M. Koo*, “Large-area reduced graphene oxide thin film with excellent thermal conductivity and electromagnetic interference shielding effectiveness”, Carbon 2015, 94, 494-500.
  14. Chong Min Koo, Lifeng Wu, Lisa Lim, Mahesh Mahanthappa, Marc Hillmyer, Frank S. Bates*, “Microstructure and mechanical properties of semicrystalline-rubbery-semicrystalline triblock copolymers”, Macromolecules 2005, 38, 6090-6098.
  15. Chong Min Koo, Sang Ouk Kim, In Jae Chung*, “Study on morphology evolution, orientational behavior and anisotropic phase formation of the highly filled polymer-layered silicate nanocomposites”, Macromolecules 2003, 36, 2748-2757.